Click HereBackground Note of "Ease of Schooling" session by DoSE&L.    Click HereList of Fake Websites resembling NIOS (एनआईओएस जैसी दिखने वाली नकली वेबसाइटों की सूची)    Click HereFrequently Asked Questions (FAQs) Vocational Education Programmes:2023-24 (अक्सर पूछे जाने वाले प्रश्न (एफएक्यू) व्यावसायिक शिक्षा कार्यक्रम - 2023-24) Newgood   Click HereNIOS presents Virtual Open School (VOS) Newgood    Click HereResult of D.El.Ed (2017-19) session NC cases has been declared on the official portal of NIOS i.e    Click HereNotification 02/2022 dt. 03/10/2022 regarding Issuance of Marksheet/Certificate for Diploma in Elementary Education (D.EL.ED)Newgood

Brief Profile

Prof. Saroj Sharma 


Chairperson, National Institute for Open Schooling (NIOS), NOIDA, India

Educational Qualifications:

 (M. Sc. (Botany), M.A. (Sociology), M. Ed., M.B.A., M.Phil. & Ph. D. (Education))

Prof. Saroj Sharma, Professor of Education, Guru Gobind Singh Indpraprastha University, New Delhi took over as the Chairperson, National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS), an autonomous institution under Ministry of Education, Govt. of India on 22nd December, 2020. 

She has rich and varied academic experience as seasoned faculty member and sound administrative experience of heading different Institutions offering the Graduate and Post graduate degrees of Education (B.Ed. M.Ed.).She is member of many Universities and academic bodies i.e.NAAC, IUC-TE BHU, CEMCA  and actively involved in various projects of UNICEF, UNESCO, ICSSR,and other social and cultural forums. Presently she is member in the Governing Bodies, Board of Studies and Academic Councils of many Universities of India. She is also a member of various Curriculum-Development and Frame work formation teams at the National and International levels in the field of different strata of School curriculum as well as of Teacher Education.  She has been a member of the consultation committee constituted byNational Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)for the formulation ofNational Education Policy(NEP)under the umbrella of Ministry of Education (MoE), member of high level committee constituted forNational Credit Framework (NCrF),member of PARAKH,member of PAB forNew India Literacy Programme (NILP) and had been member in a few other educational Programme Implementation Committees (PICs) of Government of India. 

She is in the Advisory and Editorial Boards of many Journals of Education and has to her credit a number of Books, Modules, Research Papers and articles in National and International Journals of repute. 

Under her dynamic leadership ,The National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS), received the prestigious"UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize 2021" for the programme 'Enabling education of persons with disabilities through the technology-enabled inclusive learning material, with a focus on Indian Sign Language (ISL)' and also received "Digital Transformation Award 2021"for Digital Government to Citizen (G2C) by the Governance Now,"Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Excellence Award"for Education by ALTTC (National Telecom Academy),"Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan Award"of Academic Excellence by NCWD Trust,"भारतीय शिक्षा रत्न सम्मान2023" by भारतीय हिन्दी एव संस्कृत शिक्षा परिषद.

Her Academic Vision infuses following focused Areas in contemporary Educational scenario:

  • Integration of Indian Knowledge Tradition-IKT (भारतीय ज्ञान परम्परा) in education.
  • Values, Citizenship and Moral Education with Indian Ethos.
  • Environmental concerns and sustainable development in Education.
  • Use of ICT in Education and Virtual education.
  • Inclusive Education at all the levels.
  • Paradigm Shifts in Education infusing National and Global Concerns i.e.-Peace, Gender Issues, Human Rights and Legal Education, Heritage of Art & Crafts Education, Multilingualism, Natal and Prenatal studies, Health, hygiene, Family, Population Education and skill oriented curriculum.


Important Links